Hello 2014!

I have decided to start a blog.

I’ve certainly tried this before but (unless you count my book review blog) none have been particularly successful. So don’t expect great literature or profound statements, this is going to be treated somewhat like a journal. Only, this time I’m not expecting to keep going for more than a year. I think part of the reason my past blogs died off was because I always turn it into such a HUGE project to continue forever. It feels intimidating and daunting without any sort of payoff. If I give myself a time limit I think I’ll have a better chance at keeping up with it and in the end it’ll actually feel like I accomplished something.

There are a couple factors behind why I want to try this again.

I was talking to one of my roommates about how, in these 2010s, we’ve adapted to recording our history. Gone are the days of little book journals and cameras that require film and printed pictures. I mean, I’m one of those Snapchat users. Talk about disposable. I post on Facebook and I check in on Foursquare. I use Twitter to comment on tv shows and complain about things in the news. I have an Instagram account for photos, a LinkedIn for work, Pinterest for bookmarks and lists, Goodreads for book reviews, Couch Surfing for travel, and a tumblr for random librarian memes. And that’s just what I have on my phone at this exact moment. Who knows what I’ll have tomorrow and what I’ll get rid of in the future.

My point is, I have so many ways to track and record what I do, but they all hinge on someone else’s program and I don’t really ‘own’ any of it. This blog is similar, but I think at the end of the year I’ll print the whole thing out and maybe have it bound or something. Who knows.

The second reason why I want to give this another go is because my writing really sucks lately. For serious. I need practice. I was reading through a story I wrote in college and it just made me sad because I truly don’t think I have that level of talent anymore. Really, the only way I’m going to get better is by writing something consistently that I actually want to write.

So yeah. I guess this is something of a New Year’s resolution. We’ll see how this goes…

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

